Now it is all official. Over the past few months there was plenty of speculation over concerns of Napoli renewing Lorenzo Insigne’s contract. Earlier this week it had been reported in the Italian media that a contract renewal was close, and now it is all done.

Napoli has renewed Lorenzo Insigne’s contract, tying the hometown talent to the club until 2022. This is a move that must make most Napoli fans happy. Insigne is one of the better talents in Serie A. He currently has scored 16 goals in all competitions (14 of them coming in Serie A). Insigne has let it be known that his goal is to follow in the steps of his idol Diego Maradona and guide Napoli to a scudetto. 

With rumors swirling about big clubs lining up significant offers to pry Dries Mertens away from Napoli this summer, it was extra important for Napoli to at least have Insigne locked up long term. 

Insigne said the following words in regards to his new contract:

“I’m very happy. It was my childhood dream [to stay at Napoli for as long as possible]. I have to thank all my coaches. A special thanks to Zeman, who launched my football career. I am proud of the work I have done with Sarri. This renewal is an immense joy.”

